Roasted Cauliflower with Coriander & Pink Salt

#Roasted #Cauliflower #pinksalt #coriander #cilantroseed Cauliflower is one of my favorite comfort vegetables. I can happily eat it raw, curried, puréed or other. But roasted is my go-to cooking method when it comes to this friendly member of the cabbage family. 

I tend to be biased toward the Indian influences of my cooking when it comes to cauliflower, meaning I often add a homemade mix of garam masala or panch phoron – or at least cumin and coriander (and chili and turmeric.) But, I’ve recently been getting more into the world of salt after a friend wowed me with one of the more miraculous pieces of halibut I’ve had–cooked in her oven on a pink himalayan salt slab.

Roasted Cauliflower with Coriander & Pink Salt
Grind 3 tbsp toasted coriander with 1tbsp pink Himalayan sea salt (usually purchased in larger rocks/pebbles). Slice one head of cauliflower into 3/4″ thick pieces (2cm”), toss in a light-flavored oil and the ground spices.

Then roast at 425 degrees Fahrenheit (~220 Celsius) for approximately 30 minutes on a heavy-bottomed pan lined with parchment paper, or until both sides of the cauliflower have a golden color. The time will vary depending on how thick you cut your cauliflower.

This method generally works well for any combination of spices and oil. Make sure to toss then remove the cauliflower from the mixing bowl with your hands or tongs. If you pull too much oil onto the sheet, it will steam instead of roast the cauliflower, meaning you won’t get those gorgeous golden edges.

Leave a comment